Betsuin board members holding candles facing the pews with the altar in the background

2018-2019 lay members of the Hawaii Betsuin Board of Directors with Rimban Hagio at the installation ceremony on January 20, 2018. (Not all members are present. Note that all temple ministers are also members of the board.)

An opportunity to be a link in the legacy of the temple and help the sangha stay bright and strong

The Hawaii Betsuin bylaws provide for a board of up to 35 officers and elected directors, plus the Rimban and full-time ministers, plus presidents or representatives of certain affiliated organizations. Board membership is restricted to regular gojikai (dues paying) members, with the exception of 5 members who may be appointed from outside the gojikai membership. Terms are two years.

The role of the board is to manage, conduct, and control the general affairs of the Hawaii Betsuin through its powers of appointment and approval over such matters as personnel (ministerial and lay), programs, finances, and physical maintenance of the temple.

The full board meets each month following a Sunday service (typically the second or third Sunday of the month). The Executive Committee meets only as needed to address emergent issues that cannot wait until the next board meeting.

Board Members 2018-2019


Dexter Mar, President*
Jerry Tamamoto, Past President*
~ seeking candidate ~ President Elect*
Wayne Yoshioka, 1st VP Education*
John Toguchi, 2nd VP Facilities*
Alan Goto, 3rd VP Religious Affairs*
Arthur Nakagawa, 4th VP Finance*
David Atcheson, 5th VP Operations*
~ seeking candidate ~ Treasurer* (Arthur Nakagawa, Acting Treasurer)
Irene Nohara, Secretary*
Joel Determan, Auditor*
Wendy Harman, Auditor*

* Executive Committee member
† Non-member director; bylaws allow for up to five